<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Beware of Fake Domain Name Renewal Notices</title>
	<atom:link href="http://about.tucows.com/2008/02/07/beware-of-fake-domain-name-renewal-notices/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://about.tucows.com/2008/02/07/beware-of-fake-domain-name-renewal-notices/</link>
	<description></description>
	<pubDate>Fri, 25 Jul 2008 11:05:01 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: Ian F. Hood</title>
		<link>http://about.tucows.com/2008/02/07/beware-of-fake-domain-name-renewal-notices/#comment-12722</link>
		<dc:creator>Ian F. Hood</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 07 Feb 2008 19:53:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://about.tucows.com/2008/02/07/beware-of-fake-domain-name-renewal-notices/#comment-12722</guid>
		<description>&lt;p&gt;I, fortunately, have not lost any domains to this scam, even though my clients were being deluged.  I should point out that locking would prevent the transfer from proceeding, but there would be absolutely nothing that could be done to retrieve the money paid to the scammer.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;WhoIs Privacy has certainly stopped the mailouts, but I have noticed a new behaviour which I suspect is a scam but I don't yet understand how it works.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Via my WhoIs 'inquiries' email I have begun receiving emails that offer to purchase ad space on my (customers') websites, even quoting the domain name.  The name of the author (as declared in the text) does not in any way match the name of the email account from which the email was sent and I have received multiple variants per domain.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;I have not replied to any of these emails and I have instructed my customers to also ignore them.  As I said, I am not sure what this group is up to, but something smells fishy.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I, fortunately, have not lost any domains to this scam, even though my clients were being deluged.  I should point out that locking would prevent the transfer from proceeding, but there would be absolutely nothing that could be done to retrieve the money paid to the scammer.</p>

<p>WhoIs Privacy has certainly stopped the mailouts, but I have noticed a new behaviour which I suspect is a scam but I don&#8217;t yet understand how it works.</p>

<p>Via my WhoIs &#8216;inquiries&#8217; email I have begun receiving emails that offer to purchase ad space on my (customers&#8217;) websites, even quoting the domain name.  The name of the author (as declared in the text) does not in any way match the name of the email account from which the email was sent and I have received multiple variants per domain.</p>

<p>I have not replied to any of these emails and I have instructed my customers to also ignore them.  As I said, I am not sure what this group is up to, but something smells fishy.</p>]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
